Powered by Jitbit .Net Forum free trial version. dismiss

HomeGeneral

Anything related to NetworthShare, finance, investing, etc.

$1 Million saved in 20.5 years 

JC

view JC's Portfolio
7/16/2018
JC
Just passed 1.1M for 457/401K.
Level up. Armor + 1, Agility +1. LOL
link
JC

view JC's Portfolio
4/4/2018
JC
mrmoney2 wrote:
I have been contributing to my 401k and a seperate roth IRA! after 10 years its really is starting to gain money. If you look on the retirement section on my profile, https://www.networthshare.com/user/mrmoney2 you can see how it has grown. I am not able to max it out but I put about 500 every two weeks into it. I max my IRA with vanguard out $5500 a year! I work for the federal gov - at Social Security! I know retirement and the rules well!

Chrism32205 wrote:
Very nice!! I am a state government worker and I've been contributing to my 457 plan since I started in my early 20's. I've been maxing out my yearly contributions for the past 3 years but always look back and wish I contributed more in my early years.

If I could say anything to the younger crowd (20-30) it's to start retirement savings early and be serious about it.

edited by mrmoney2 on 3/9/2018

Looks like you're well on the way!
link
JC

view JC's Portfolio
4/4/2018
JC
Chrism32205 wrote:
Very nice!! I am a state government worker and I've been contributing to my 457 plan since I started in my early 20's. I've been maxing out my yearly contributions for the past 3 years but always look back and wish I contributed more in my early years.

If I could say anything to the younger crowd (20-30) it's to start retirement savings early and be serious about it.

absolutely! start early and be consistent. You won't miss the money if you never had it. just keep increasing your contribution rate, esp when you get your raises.
link
JC

view JC's Portfolio
4/4/2018
JC
Overcomer wrote:
From one civil servant to another: NICE JOB!! I'll get there one day! smile