Powered by Jitbit .Net Forum free trial version. dismiss

HomeGeneral

Anything related to NetworthShare, finance, investing, etc.

Indexing vs. individual stocks 

JC

view JC's Portfolio
7/16/2018
JC
thanks NJ for the explanation!
link
JC

view JC's Portfolio
7/16/2018
JC
plasticsurgeryrox wrote:
I have been investing in the stock market for the last 25 years.
Just a few thoughts....
I do think investing in the market is the best thing that everyone should do but it needs to be done the right way.
In general, think of stocks as owning a piece of a company and think of bonds as giving a loan to a company.
Ownership has more headaches (i.e. ups and downs of markets) but the return is better the vast majority of the time.
I have bought individual stocks and have bought index funds and have worked with multiple financial advisors and money managers.
In my experience, index funds (SPY, VFINX) on an annual basis will beat the returns of buying individual stocks (most of the time) and every financial advisor and money manager I have ever worked with (every time).
The problem with buying individual stocks is that no one I have met has the patience or stomach to deal with the ups and downs of volatility.
I think that most people should buy index funds and just ride them without thinking about them.
Although it does not make sense for most people, I strongly believe that the market will always go up in the long term (and will outperform bonds and other investments). I cannot prove mathematically it will go up, but I accept it the same way I accept gravity (which I also cannot prove mathematically).

Thanks plastic!

It means a lot coming from you. Basically confirms everything I've read so far. Esp the part about your indexing beating every advisor and manager every time. Glad to know I'm 93% on the same path, with 7% or so on individual stocks/a bit of fun.
link
plasticsurgeryrox

view plasticsurgeryrox's Portfolio
7/4/2018