Net Worth Comparison
By Age
$647,433
$4,539,399
By Occupation
$120,220
$1,389,871
By Education
($22,169)
$9,080,100
By Salary
$1,500
$1,771,336

Fern's Profile

Currency
United States Dollar - USD
Date Joined
2/5/2017
Salary Range
30,000 - 39,999
Occupation
Biotechnology & Pharmaceuticals
Age Range
60-64
About Me
60-year-old single New Englander with a historically decent savings rate offset by multiple layoffs over a 37-year career as a marketing writer and journalist. Semi-retired at age 58 but still working p/t as a proofreader in pharma industry.
Why I Joined
I like to hold myself accountable.
Best Financial Decision
Aggressively prepaying my mortgage and eventually paying off a 30-year loan in 17 years.
Worst Financial Decision
Choosing not to finish law school, possibly. Picking the wrong law school to attend.
Current Investing Strategy
In 2018, I transitioned from full-time to part-time work. This was something I'd wanted to do for years, and I realized I could do it 2 years early. (Actually, I would feel very comfortable fully retiring if it weren't for the high cost of health insurance, especially if you're not employed and are too young for Medicare.)

Last year, my p/t work covered 98% of expenses. I'm not trying to save any further toward retirement but just cover ongoing expenses, and I hope to do this for 4 more years, until I can get on Medicare and not be so vulnerable to health insurance price fluctuations a la the Affordable Care Act.

I love the freedom and newfound time my new work schedule has given me. My current financial strategy is simply to hold the course with about a 45/45/10 ratio of stocks, bonds and cash in indexed Vanguard funds (a much more conservative stance than I've had in the past).

How do you manage your finances?
I do monthly and annual expense and investment reports using forms I've developed and tweaked for my needs over time.
What tools do you use?
I take advantage of free portfolio checkups and retirement planning with Vanguard and T. Rowe Price.
I need financial help with...
Nothing specific, but I do have an interest in minimizing taxes in retirement and strategies for doing so.
Fortunately, my home is paid for and I live pretty simply so month-to-month. so expenditures will hopefully remain low.
Favorite Books
The Millionaire Next Door, Frugal Gazette, Your Money or Your Life.
Last Login
7/5/2020
Net Worth Entries
All values shown in USD ($)
2020 - July $1,389,871 $0 $1,389,871
2019 - June $1,349,200 $0 $1,349,200
2018 - September $1,288,802 $0 $1,288,802
2018 - March $1,294,169 $0 $1,294,169
2017 - November $1,259,600 $0 $1,259,600
2017 - October $1,277,508 $0 $1,277,508
2017 - August $1,222,215 $0 $1,222,215
2017 - March $1,214,065 $0 $1,214,065
2017 - February $1,182,560 $0 $1,182,560
2016 - November $1,240,968 $0 $1,240,968